Page 1 of 1

Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:16 pm
by Peter Barton
I'm moving the ISP that madmaxmovies.com is hosted on, which will affect the discussion forum for a couple of days. It takes around 48 hours from when I kick off the move to when everyone sees the site at the new location, so at some point during the next week, you may find yourself looking at a maintenance page when you come here. If you see that, it means your ISP is still pointing to the old location, and there's not much you can do except wait. I'll post something to the main page once the move is in progress.

Everything else should migrate pretty much as is, and hopefully not be noticable to anyone - but if you do spot any issues, just let me know. The new ISP is a bit less restrictive than the current one (more disk space, less bandwidth limitation, etc), which should hopefully see me expanding a few areas a bit better than I have been able to do previously, so stay tuned...

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:11 pm
by mack tanker
Thanks alot pete !!!!!!

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:20 am
by Peter Barton
OK, everything is moved, and a little faster than I expected (from my end anyway, possibly everyone else isn't seeing the new location yet... hopefully soon). I've restored the forum from a backup and it looks good - but if anyone does spot any issues, please do let me know. Same with the rest of the site, I'm currently running some checks to be sure everything is OK, but the site is large, so you never know what I might miss.

The new host currently offers unlimited storage & bandwidth, hopefully that lasts, as it will enable me to put a few new things up - and restore some older things that have been removed. The old ISP was all unlimited when I joined them 7 years ago, unfortunately they were taken over and changed the rules due to cost cutting - the last straw was when I was unable to update the main page last month, and had to delete files when I hit the disk space quota. I'm hoping that is now behind me, and I can get back to concentrating on the site, and putting what I want online without these limitations.

PS. Thanks mack - I hope the effort is worth it...!

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 7:18 am
by batmax5
Peter,

Yes! Thank you very much for all the time and effort you put into this site.

Where else could we go for all things MM? Nowhere. That's where.

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:43 am
by bike
batmax5 wrote:Peter,

Yes! Thank you very much for all the time and effort you put into this site.

Where else could we go for all things MM? Nowhere. That's where.


Second this, thanks Peter.

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:25 pm
by roadwarriormfp
Is it just me or do the forum pages actually load faster now???

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:55 pm
by Peter Barton
When I tested the new ISP during the week, the pages loaded HEAPS faster - and I've noticed the older ISP seemed to be getting worse of late as well. If anything, the forum yesterday seemed a bit slow on the new site, but seems good again today. Time will tell I guess, if it stays as good as it now, I'll be happy.

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:51 pm
by batmax5
Peter,

Just to let you know, everything is working great except that some avatars do not load on my computer. I get a little box with a red X.
As opposed to a Red XA Coupe...

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:18 pm
by Peter Barton
Thanks for the heads up - most likely some avatar components are stored in files (not in the database), I'll try to find them and transfer them across.

Re: Board Maintenance - Just a heads up

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:57 pm
by Peter Barton
OK - I think I've found the files that were missed, and they should be there now. From memory some special settings were required to make this work as well (for uploading / changing) - I've tried to replicate that, but again, if any issues (if it is not working!), just let me know.

I'll do some more thorough checks again this evening after work, to see if there is anything else I've missed.

Thanks.